An Introduction…

Bonjour!

Welcome to my debutant entry into the world wide blogosphere! This first blog is just a little introduction to let you know what you can find here in the future, and a teeny weeny bit about myself.

After fifteen years supporting my beloved York City, in May 2012 I witnessed a truly wonderful day at Wembley Stadium, The Minstermen returning to the football league after a long and hard 9 years in Englands fifth tier. During the subsequent hours of celebration, whilst talking excitedly about furture trips to football landmarks such as Valley Parade, Roots Hall and Underhill, my mind gathered itself and reminded me of my impending move to Paris in September.

The dissapointment oozed from me, the realisation I would miss the majority of our first season back in League 2, and that away trip to Dagenham and Redbridge. Anyway, three days later and a very sore head I pulled my self together. York could do without me for one year and I would find a replacement. So this was my idea, go and watch some footy in Paris, write about it and hope somebody reads it!

Now, I will not bore you with a history of Parisien football. I’m sure you are all aware of the new cash rich Paris Saint-Germain, I wouldn’t really know much about them seeing as I usually watch my football at places like Edgeley Park rather than Stamford Bridge.

Instead I will be concentrating on places a little more modest, but  with more history and character than one of PSG’s eighty euro replica shirts. The two clubs I will be focusing on are Paris FC and more importantly Red Star 93.

Both clubs currently play in the Championat National which is the third tier of French Football. Although equivalant to League 1 in England, the average attendances of both club is more akin to Conference standard.

FC have a relatively modern history dating back to only 1969. They merged with Stade St Germain but soon split with the newly christened Paris Saint-Germain, whose own history is obviously well documented. FC however were dealt a far harsh hand, last playing in the top flight in 1979.

Red Star, have a long and colourful history. Formed way back in 1897 by none other than future FIFA President Jules Rimet. One of the founding members of Ligue 1, their early years also contain five Coupe de France titles. Based in the working class and now mutli-cultural Saint-Ouen northern suburb of Paris, Red Star now also find themselves languashing in the third tier.

So that’s the history lesson over for now, I will enthrall you with more in later entries. In future blog entries, whilst obviously commenting on the games I go to watch, I won’t bore you with long match reports. I want to make a comment on the atmosphere of these places, the fans and the way the lower league french football culture compares to England.

All thats left to say is I hope you come back for my second and proper entry after my visit this friday to the Stade Bauer to watch Red Star take on Vannes OC!

Allez Red Star!!

Cheers, Paul.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Introduction…

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Francois says:

    Viva Red star!!!!! J’Deteste PARIS. we will kill PARIS

  3. Olivier says:

    J’DETESTE RED STAR. rarrrrr WAR

  4. Gareth Bell says:

    Looking forward to reading it mate!

  5. Minsterman says:

    Nice one our kid! You’re sounding great already. Really looking forward to this. Roots Hall was indeed a classic experience!

Leave a Reply

